Life Begins At » Victorian Senior of the Year Awards Announced

Victorian Senior of the Year Awards Announced

Victorian Minister for Ageing David Davis has presented 14 awards that honour the contribution of seniors at the Senior of the Year Awards ceremony at Government House today.

Lismore stalwart Ted Goodacre was today named 2014 Victorian Senior of the Year, recognising decades of inspirational volunteer work for his local  community.

“Ted was nominated by a range of Lismore and district community  organisations who acknowledged his volunteer work including fundraising  and project initiatives for the Lions Club, the State Emergency Service, Lismore sports clubs, schools and community groups,” Mr Davis said.

Member for Polwarth Terry Mulder said Ted Goodacre is an esteemed member  of the community where he has lived for many decades and that he is  affectionately known as a Lismore stalwart.

“Ted is a long serving member of the Lismore and District Lions Club and  he also coordinates the Lions Club Roadside Driver Reviver coffee stop.  “His generosity and eagerness to enrich the life of his community is  witnessed regularly by those who live in the Lismore region,” Mr Mulder  said.

Mr Davis said the awards honour the remarkable volunteer work of seniors,  as well as those who enable seniors to live healthy lives and who help  promote cultural diversity.

“We celebrate their generosity, their hard work, their compassion and  dedication in making a real difference to communities and people across  Victoria,” Mr Davis said.

Other award winners include:

  • Veteran Community Award winner: Mr Geoff Casey of Drysdale
  • Healthy and Active Living  Award winner: Mr Geoffrey Stokes of Kooweerup
  • Promotion of Multiculturalism Award winner: Ms Wu Kiu Ying of Kew
  • Council on the Ageing (COTA) Victoria Senior Achiever Award winners:  Ms Irene Andrianakis of Albert Park, Mrs Anne Atkin of Hallam, Mrs Gwen Clark of Clayton South, Ms Betty Knight of Albert Park, Dr Santosh Kumar of Doncaster, Mrs Jeanette Lane of Rosebud, Mr Ivo McLaughlin of Hamilton, Mr David Menadue of Balaclava, Mrs Jenny Veevers of Southbank, and Mr Garry West of Ballarat.

About the author

Alana Lowes

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment