Life Begins At » Longlist for the Miles Franklin Literary Award Announced
Bookclub Lifestyle

Longlist for the Miles Franklin Literary Award Announced

The book that started it all - Miles Franklin's My Brilliant Career
The book that started it all – Miles Franklin’s My Brilliant Career

The 2014 longlist for the Miles Franklin Literary Award, regarded as Australia’s most prestigious literature prize, has been announced.

Acclaimed Australian authors and a new generation of novelists are all vying for the $60,000 prize, established through the will of a My Brilliant Career author Miles Franklin in 1957. The ward is presented each year to the novel which is of the highlest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

The longlist includes two debut novelists and two past winners. The 2014 longlist is:

Tracy Farr – The Life And Loves Of Lena Guant

Richard Flanagan – The Narrow Road to the Deep North

Ashley Hay – The Railwayman’s Wife

Melissa Lucashenko – Mullumbimby

Fiona McFarlane – The Night Guest

Nicolas Rothwell – Belomor

Trevor Shearston – Game

Cory Taylor – My Beautiful Enemy

Tim Winton – Eyrie

Alexis Wright – The Swan Book

Evie Wyld – All The Birds, Singing

Tim Winton won in 2009 for his book Breath, while Alexis Wright took the prize in 2007 for Carpentaria.

Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian, Richard Neville, said the strength and diversity of this year’s entrants is testament to the depth and breadth of Australian literary talent.

“With 53 submissions received, the 2014 Miles Franklin Literary Award has once again cemented itself as a pre-eminent award within the national arts community. Whittling the entries down to 11 for the longlist was both rewarding and challenging due to the high calibre of submissions.

“From acclaimed former Miles Franklin winners to exciting new voices, this year’s longlist reflects the great strength, variety and richness of current Australian fiction,” he said.

Richard Neville is joined on the judging panel by The Australian journalist and columnist, Murray Waldren, Sydney-based bookseller, Anna Low, biographer, book historian, publishing editor, and Queensland Writers Centre founding chair Craig Munro and Emeritus Professor, Susan Sheridan.


The Miles Franklin 2014 shortlist will be announced at a public event at the State Library of New South Wales on Thursday 15 May 2014, with the winner to be announced on Thursday 26 June 2014.

For further information about the Miles Franklin Literary Award, visit

About the author

Alana Lowes

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment